Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Sixty-Four Chance Pieces : A Book of Changes, Paperback / softback Book

Sixty-Four Chance Pieces : A Book of Changes Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback


The Chinese I Ching, or Book of Changes, is one of the oldest and strangest of all books, a masterpiece of world literature, a divination manual, and a magnet for the deranged and the obsessive.

In Sixty-Four Chance Pieces, novelist and philosopher Will Buckingham puts the I Ching to work, using it to weave together 64 stories of chance and change, each flowing from one of the I Ching's 64 hexagrams.

Moving between myth, fable, and travel writing, the collection offers an attempt to make sense of the maddening, changeable book that is the I Ching, with tales of inventors and fox-spirits, ancient poets and nonexistent rulers, kleptomaniac pensioners and infernal bureaucrats.

Like the I Ching itself, this new Book of Changes is a puzzle, a conundrum, and a journey of many transformations, where nothing is quite what it seems.



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops