Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Salt Lane : the superb first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi Investigations, Paperback / softback Book

Salt Lane : the superb first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi Investigations Paperback / softback

Part of the DS Alexandra Cupidi series

Paperback / softback


'William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction.

This is his best book to date' Peter James'Taut, terrifying and timely' Val McDermid'William Shaw is a superb storyteller' Peter MaySHE ALWAYS WENT TOO FAR DS Alexandra Cupidi has done it again.

She should have learnt to keep her big mouth shut, after the scandal that sent her packing - resentful teenager in tow - from the London Met to the lonely Kent coastline.

Murder is different here, among the fens and stark beaches. SHE WAS THE ONE WHO FOUND THE KILLERSThe man drowned in the slurry pit had been herded there like an animal.

He was North African, like many of the fruit pickers that work the fields.

The more Cupidi discovers, the more she wants to ask - but these people are suspicious of questions. AND NOW IT WAS KILLING HERIt will take an understanding of this strange place - its old ways and new crimes - to uncover the dark conspiracy behind the murder.

Cupidi is not afraid to travel that road. But she should be. She should, by now, have learnt. Salt Lane is the first in the new DS Alexandra Cupidi series.

With his trademark characterisation and flair for social commentary, William Shaw has crafted a crime novel for our time that grips you, mind and heart.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by William Shaw  |  View all







Also in the DS Alexandra Cupidi series  |  View all