The Best Kind of People, Hardback Book

Description

The gripping summer read perfect for fans of Megan Abbott's The Fever and Louise O'Neill's Asking For It . 'Prods at the dark underbelly of society.' Red Best Summer Beach ReadsA Prima Best Summer Read'Compelling story characters readers will recognize and come to love and writing that makes it effortless to turn page after page.' Vancouver SunTHE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a page-turning Canadian bestseller about a family on the brink of collapse.

It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.What if someone you trusted was accused of the unthinkable?George Woodbury is a teacher at a prestigious Connecticut private school.

He is voted Teacher of the Year every year, after he rescued the school from a gunman attack.

On his daughter's 17th birthday this beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety with teenage girls on a skiing trip.

His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her.

Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah.

Their son, Andrew, a lawyer, assists in his father's defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years coming out as gay.

With George awaiting trial, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives?

How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?'Whittall places the reader right at the centre of their pain.

It's the best depiction of female suffering I've read since Jane Smiley eloquently tackled sexual abuse in A Thousand Acres.' Toronto Star

Information

Other Formats

Save 25%

£16.99

£12.59

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Zoe Whittall