Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Would I Lie to You?, Hardback Book

Would I Lie to You? Hardback

Hardback

Description

'Warm, intelligent ... and keeps up the tension right till the end' Sophie Kinsella'A refreshing new voice in commercial fiction' Cosmopolitan'I devoured this book' Sarah Pearse'Intelligent and original' Lesley KaraFrom fresh new voice Aliya Ali-Afzal, Would I Lie to You? is a page-turning, warm and funny debut about what happens when you have your dream life - and are about to lose it. At the school gates, Faiza fits in. It took a few years, but now the snobbish mothers who mistook her for the nanny treat her as one of their own.

She's learned to crack their subtle codes, speak their language of handbags and haircuts and discreet silver watches.

You'd never guess, at the glamorous kids' parties and the leisurely coffee mornings, that Faiza's childhood was spent following her parents round the Tooting Cash'n'Carry. When her husband Tom loses his job in finance, he stays calm.

Something will come along, and in the meantime, they can live off their savings.

But Faiza starts to unravel. Raising the perfect family comes at a cost - and the money Tom put aside has gone.

When Tom's redundancy package ends, Faiza will have to tell him she's spent it all. Unless she doesn't... It only takes a second to lie to Tom. Now Faiza has six weeks to find GBP75,000 before her lie spirals out of control.

If anyone can do it, Faiza can: she's had to fight for what she has, and she'll fight to keep it.

But as the clock ticks down, and Faiza desperately tries to put things right, she has to ask herself: how much more should she sacrifice to protect her family?A tense, funny and page-turning debut from a fresh new voice in fiction, Would I Lie to You? is perfect for readers of Adele Parks, Celeste Ng, and Kiley Reid. 'Convincing and compelling' Stacey Halls 'The writing is so fresh and light; funny in places, but moving in others ...

I'll be recommending it to everyone I know' Sarah Pearse 'I really enjoyed Would I Lie to You ...

A fresh take on domestic dynamics and moral dilemma ...

Great for book clubs' Clare Mackintosh 'So warm, funny, sad and brilliantly written' Laura Marshall 'Not just entertaining, but intelligent and original too ... and the resourceful Faiza will steal your heart' Lesley Kara 'A warm, funny, compelling, escapist read' Debbie Howells 'Tense, funny, poignant and very clever' Claire Douglas

Information

Other Formats

£18.99

£15.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Aliya Ali-Afzal