Supporting your high street Find out how »
The Old Wives' Tale, Paperback / softback Book

The Old Wives' Tale Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

'There are few more moving accounts of the effects of time, the passage of history and the slow encroachment of age than this remarkable, epic novel' Guardian Discover this powerful novel about the ordinary lives of the Baines sisters.

The perfect next step for fans of Little Women. In The Old Wives' Tale, Arnold Bennett tells the story of two such old wives, sisters Constance and Sophia, from youth, through marriage, heartbreak, triumphs and disasters, to old age.

In doing so, he reveals with careful compassion the intense inner lives that throb beneath every seemingly insignificant exterior. WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY SATHNAM SANGHERA

Information

Other Formats

£10.99

£9.39

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Arnold Bennett   |  View all