Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea : the New York Times bestselling magical fantasy, Hardback Book

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea : the New York Times bestselling magical fantasy Hardback

Hardback

Description

Don't chase fate. Let fate chase you. 'Clever, creative, and exquisitely written' Stephanie GarberFor generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina's homeland.

Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair.

To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the 'true bride' will be chosen and end the suffering. Many believe Shim Cheong - Mina's brother's beloved - to be the legendary true bride.

But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina's brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence.

To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong's stead. Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep.

With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all. But she doesn't have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking . . . The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki's Spirited Away. 'A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling' Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes'A true jewel of a story' Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend

Information

Other Formats

£16.99

£13.75

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Axie Oh