Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Fate of Mary Rose, Paperback / softback Book

The Fate of Mary Rose Paperback / softback

Part of the Virago Modern Classics series

Paperback / softback

Description

THE PITCH-BLACK FORGOTTEN CLASSIC OF 2024 From the Booker-shortlisted author of Great Granny Webster, this mordant gem of a thriller is perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson, Celia Dale and Ottessa Moshfegh. 'One of the greatest, darkest writers who ever lived' Virginia Feito'This chillingly profound story drips with classy darkness. . . a one-way descent into the abyss' Janice HallettA wry, dark and knowing laugh rings out from Caroline Blackwood's scalpel-sharp prose' Camilla Grudova'Vibrates with a frenzied, manic menace' Lucy Scholes'A devastating investigation of neurosis, hysteria and cruelty' Observer'A winner . . . Guaranteed to disturb' Sunday Times'Caroline Blackwood sits firmly alongside the greats like Shirley Jackson and Patricia Highsmith' Araminta Hall***She was dead even before I became aware of her existence . . . A child has been abducted from a sleepy Kent village, her face plastered across the media. As the crime unleashes a wave of hysteria, the claustrophobic world of Rowan Anderson and his inscrutable wife begins to disintegrate.

Consumed by her macabre fixation, Cressida is determined to save their sickly daughter, Mary Rose, from the same fate - and perhaps even from Rowan himself. With caustic wit and pitch-black brilliance, Caroline Blackwood creates a skin-crawling - and utterly compulsive - story of repressed violence, female rage, and maternal obsession.

Information

Save 2%

£9.99

£9.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also in the Virago Modern Classics series  |  View all

£9.99

£9.79

£9.99

£9.79

£9.99

£9.35