Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

We Lie with Death : The Reborn Empire, Book Two, Paperback / softback Book

We Lie with Death : The Reborn Empire, Book Two Paperback / softback

Part of the The Reborn Empire series

Paperback / softback


The empire has fallen and another rises in its place in the action-packed sequel to We Ride the Storm, Devin Madson's brutal and breathtaking epic fantasy. Into Kisia's conquered north, a Levanti empire is born. Loyal to the new emperor, Dishiva e'Jaroven must tread the line between building a new life and clinging to the old.

But his next choice will challenge all she thinks she knows and everything she wants to believe. Now empress of nothing, Miko is more determined than ever to claim her empire, yet as her hunt for allies grows increasingly desperate, she may learn too late that power lies not in names but in people. Abandoned by the Second Swords, Rah must choose a new path.

Will honor be his salvation, or lead to his destruction?Sold to the Witchdoctor, Cassandra's only chance of freedom is in his hands, but when her fate becomes inextricably linked to Empress Hana, her true nature could condemn them both. THERE IS NO CALM AFTER THE STORMPraise for the series'Highly recommended' John Gwynne'One of the best ongoing series in the fantasy genre' The Fantasy Inn'Madson is an exciting new author in fantasy' Mark Lawrence'A complex tale of war, politics and lust for power' Guardian


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the The Reborn Empire series  |  View all