Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Supporting your high street Find out how »
Dark Asylum : A chilling, page-turning mystery, Paperback / softback Book

Dark Asylum : A chilling, page-turning mystery Paperback / softback

Part of the Jem Flockhart series

Paperback / softback

Description

'Evocative...brilliant plotting' REBECCA GRIFFITHS'Vivid, pungent and perilous' CHRIS BROOKMYREA chilling and atmospheric thriller perfect for fans of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, The Silent Companions and The Strangers Diaries. 1851, Angel Meadow Asylum. Dr Rutherford, principal physician to the insane, is found dead, his head bashed in, his ears cut off, his lips and eyes stitched closed. The police direct their attention towards Angel Meadow's inmates, but to Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain the crime is an act of calculated retribution, rather than of madness.

To discover the truth Jem and Will must pursue the story through the darkest corners of the city - from the depths of a notorious rookery, to the sordid rooms of London's brothels, the gallows, the graveyard, the convict fleet and then back to the asylum.

In a world where guilt and innocence, crime and atonement, madness and reason, are bounded by hypocrisy, ambition and betrayal, Jem and Will soon find themselves caught up in a web of dark secrets and hidden identities. Praise for E.S. Thomson:'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it.

The blood, the bones...' LAURA PURCELL'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' DAILY EXPRESS'Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark' JANET ELLIS'Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years' KIRSTY LOGAN'A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing' MARY PAULSON ELLIS'A tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' EVENING TELEGRAPH

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£8.15

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by E. S. Thomson   |  View all

Also in the Jem Flockhart series   |  View all