Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Down By The Water : The compulsive page turner you won't want to miss, Hardback Book

Down By The Water : The compulsive page turner you won't want to miss Hardback

Hardback

Description

They wanted to get away. But now they can't get out. A page-turning thriller perfect for fans of Ruth Ware's IN A DARK, DARK WOOD and Lucy Foley's THE HUNTING PARTY. "Down By The Water takes the reader on a weekend trip from hell...

I loved the classy writing and ever-growing sense of unease in this clever subversion of a classic country house mystery" - Harriet Tyce"Sinister and atmospheric" - Chris Brookmyre"Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped" - Susi Holliday"A psychological thriller with both depth and drive, Down By The Water is a gripping mystery." - Nathan RipleySeven friends gather at a castle in the Scottish Borders.

One last weekend before Georgie's wedding. Near the castle, through a path in the woods, is a loch.

After a few drinks, they head down to the water to take photos.

The loch is wild, lonely, and stunningly beautiful. They set their camera to self-timer and take some group shots.

Later, looking back at the pictures, they see something impossible.

Behind them, eyes wide, a small, drenched boy emerges from the water.

But none of them saw him, and nobody knows where he went.

They're miles from the nearest town. How did he get there? Where did he go? As the weekend unravels and terrible secrets come to light, it soon becomes clear that their perfect weekend is turning into a perfect nightmare.

They're desperate to leave - but someone won't let them. "A chilling drama" Sunday Times

Information

Other Formats

Save 26%

£18.99

£13.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Elle Connel