Under a Monsoon Cloud: An Inspector Ghote Mystery, Paperback Book

Under a Monsoon Cloud: An Inspector Ghote Mystery Paperback

Part of the Penguin Modern Classics series


A man is dead and Inspector Ghote knows exactly who killed him.

Now if he can just keep it a secret... H.R.F. Keating's Under a Monsoon Cloud: An Inspector Ghote Mystery is published with an introduction by Alexander McCall Smith, author of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, in Penguin Modern Classics.What had until recently been a police sergeant is now lying at Ghote's feet bleeding his last.

An accident it may have been, but Ghote saw exactly what happened, and it's his duty to arrest the killer.

Isn't it? Or can the inspector better serve his beloved police force by disposing of the body, by concealing a crime? And if he does, will he manage to keep his terrible secret?

As an Inquiry begins beneath the first torrents of monsoon rain - will he even want to?

H. R. F. Keating (1926-2011) was born at St Leonards-on-Sea, Sussex.

He went to Merchant Taylors, leaving early to work in the engineering department of the BBC.

After a period of service in the army, which he describes as 'totally undistinguished', he went to Trinity College, Dublin, where he became a scholar in modern languages.

He was also the crime books reviewer for The Times for fifteen years.

His first novel about Inspector Ghote, The Perfect Murder, won the Gold Dagger of the Crime Writers Association and an Edgar Allen Poe Special Award.

His other works in Penguin Modern Classics include Inspector Ghote Breaks an Egg, Inspector Ghote Trusts the Heart, and Under a Monsoon Cloud: An Inspector Ghote Mystery.If you enjoyed Under a Monsoon Cloud, you might like Keating's Inspector Ghote Breaks an Egg.'It's the best' P.D.

James'One of the great characters of the contemporary mystery novel' The New York Times'Delightful and convincing . . . poignant' Time


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780141194486

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the Penguin Modern Classics series   |  View all