How We Remember, Paperback / softback Book

How We Remember Paperback / softback

Description

Every family has its secrets, and many have sibling rivalries. When Jo O'Brien returns home after her mother's death, she is forced to confront both. An unexpected inheritance fans the flames of existing tensions between Jo and her brother, and their mother's long-forgotten diary recalls the messy aftermath of an uncle's sexual advances towards Jo when she was a teenager.

Like the diary, Jo's memory of events is full of gaps, but one thing is certain - she will never regain what was lost. How We Remember traces the effects of alcoholism, mental illness and abuse on one Irish-Italian-American, working-class family.

Jo's narration weaves together past and present stories, creating a complex portrait of her family's life, one that will shape Jo's future choices when faced with the tragedy of mismanaged grief. Perfect for fans of Anne Tyler, Winnie M Li and Sylvia Brownrigg, this is a novel that will stay with you long after you stop turning the pages.

Information

£8.99

£7.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops