Babar the King, Paperback Book
3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)


"If you love elephants, you will love Babar and Celeste," writes A.

A. Milne, author of Winnie-the-Pooh, in his preface to The Story of Babar. "And if you have never loved elephants, you will love them now."This is the story of Babar the Elephant and his travels.

When his mother dies, Babar decides to seek his fortune in the big city.

Becoming king of his people isn't always easy for Babar the elephant, but his patience and determination always help him to win the day. Jean de Brunhoff's exquisite Babar stories have charmed readers around the world for 80 years, and they are as cherished today as ever.

This beautiful book is perfect for introducing Babar to a new generation of fans.

A lovely reading experience for children aged 3+. Also look out for The Story of Babar and The Babar Collection. Jean de Brunhoff is considered to be one of the greatest picture book authors in history.

Born in Paris, de Brunhoff was the fourth and last child of a successful publisher.

He managed to produce a total of seven Babar books before his death at the age of 37.

Since then, millions and millions of Babar books have been sold all around the world.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 48 pages, colour artwork illustrations
  • Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Picture books: character books
  • ISBN: 9781405238199

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

This book is about Babar the king. He and his people have built a beautiful city called Cellesteville. Everyone is happy with the kingdom until bad things happen. An old lady gets bit by a snake and Cornelius gets injured in the fire. Babar has a terrible dream of bad things coming, but then good elephants save them with happiness and hope. This story reminds us even in bad times we must remember to have faith and keep up a positive attitude.

Also by Jean De Brunhoff   |  View all

Also in the Babar series