Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet Plays Schumann, CD / Album Cd

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet Plays Schumann CD / Album

CD / Album


The programme is built around the 'Grande Sonate (No. 3)'. This impressive, large-scale work was originally composed in 1834, revised in 1853, and eventually premiered (six years after the composer's death) by Schumann's young protégé Johannes Brahms. Jean-Efflam first discovered the work through a recording by Vladimir Horowitz in the 1980s, he was honoured to play the work to, and discuss it with, Horowitz in Paris in 1985. Similarly to Horowitz, Jean-Efflam combines elements from both the original and revised versions of the work on this recording to adapt two passages played in the first movement. He has chosen to complement the sonata with another early work - the 'Faschingsschwank aus Wien' - and then the much later 'Drei Fantasiestücke'. He closes with the 'Gesänge der Frühe' which was among the last compositions that Schumann wrote before his attempted suicide and confinement to a mental asylum in February 1854. As he does in all his albums, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet contributes an insightful personal performer's note to the booklet.

Track Listing

  1. I. Allegro
  2. II. Scherzo. Molto Commodo
  3. III. Quasi Variazioni. Andantino De Clara Wieck
  4. IV. Prestissimo Possibile
  5. I. Allegro. Sehr Lebhaft
  6. II. Romanze. Ziemlich Langsam
  7. III. Scherzino
  8. IV. Intermezzo. Mit Größter Energie
  9. V. Finale. Höchst Lebhaft
  10. I. Sehr Rasch, Mit Leidenschaftlichem Vortrag
  11. II. Ziemlich Langsam
  12. III. Kräftig Und Sehr Markiert
  13. I. Im Ruhigen Tempo
  14. II. Belebt, Nicht Zu Rasch
  15. III. Lebhaft
  16. IV. Bewegt
  17. V. Im Anfange Ruhiges, Im Verlauf Bewegtes Tempo



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops