Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Civil Rights Stories: Women's Rights and Suffrage, Paperback / softback Book

Civil Rights Stories: Women's Rights and Suffrage Paperback / softback

Illustrated by Toby Newsome

Part of the Civil Rights Stories series

Paperback / softback


This book explains civil rights and the the history of the fight for equal rights for women in an accessible way for younger readers. Included is a foreword by Dr Shola Mos-Shogbamimu, who is a prominent lawyer, political and women's rights activist and author of This Is Why I Resist. A chronological selection of key civil rights moments and movements in the struggle for women's rights is explained in a child-friendly way.

This book examines some of the history of why women have universally been denied the same rights as men.

It looks at topics, such as suffrage movements in various countries around the world, how women are denied rights to work and education, violence against women, and women in sport.

It explores how women have fought to be able to live their lives freely and that this fight is still ongoing.

It also acknowledges the racial inequality in voting rights and how Black, indigenous and women of colour throughout the world have had a further struggle for their civil rights. Prominent civil rights campaigners and figures are featured and a timeline helps readers to see at a glance how the fight to bring about equality has evolved over time and is still ongoing.

Sensitive illustrations illuminate the text and help readers to understand some of the harder concepts.

Death and violence are mentioned, but are wholly in context and are written about in a non-alarmist way with the age of the reader very much in mind.

The Civil Rights Stories series is a vital resource for younger readers aged 7+ who are being introduced to these topics or are studying these topics in school.

Titles in this series:Human RightsLGBTQ+ RightsRacial EqualityRefugees and HomelandsSlaveryWomen's Rights and Suffrage


Other Formats


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops