Dreaming Frankenstein, Paperback Book
4.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


Liz Lochhead has built an impressive reputation as poet, playwright and performer attracting a large and admiring public.

Dreaming Frankenstein and Collected Poems stands as a monument to her early work: four collections Memo for Spring (1972), Islands (1978) and Grimm Sisters (1981) and the title volume together provide a complete record of her poetry from 1967 to 1984.

In Dreaming Frankenstein human relationships, especially as seen from a woman's point of view, are central.

Attraction, pain, acceptance, loss, triumphs and deceptions all are made immediate through her imagery and acute powers of observation and through her flair as a storyteller.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Birlinn General
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9780954407513

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

Lochhead writes verse that is not only exhibits great wit, but also manages to be both accessible and challenging. She juxtaposes images across time and geography and comes up with poems that are fresh and new even those drawn from human emotions old enough to be the subjects of folklore and mythology.

Review by

This is an absolutely wonderful collection. Lochhead's poems are creative, but not gimicky; intellectual, but not snobbish; heartfelt, but not cliche; nationalistic, but not propagandistic; poignant, but not sappy.A wonderful, wonderful read, and an incredibly engaging book. My personal favorites in this collection are the poems concerning the idea of loss.