Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Supporting your high street Find out how »
For Reasons Unknown, Paperback / softback Book

For Reasons Unknown Paperback / softback

Part of the DCI Matilda Darke Thriller series

Paperback / softback

Description

Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more... DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence.

A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness.

The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word. Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case.

Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more... A darkly compelling debut crime novel, this is the start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Val McDermid. Praise for Michael Wood: 'Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending' Mark Edwards 'DCI Matilda Darke is going places' James Oswald 'I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke' Robert Bryndza 'A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations' Sarah Ward 'A skilfully crafted and compelling debut that hooks from the off and will keep you guessing until the final page' M.R.

Hall 'Gripping, sad and unexpected' Alex Marwood

Information

Other Formats

£12.99

£10.55

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Michael Wood   |  View all

Also in the DCI Matilda Darke Thriller series