The Broken Road : From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos, Paperback Book

The Broken Road : From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos Paperback

4 out of 5 (1 rating)


The long-awaited final volume of the trilogy by Patrick Leigh Fermor.

A Time of Gifts and Between the Woods and the Water were the first two volumes in a projected trilogy that would describe the walk that Patrick Leigh Fermor undertook at the age of eighteen from the Hook of Holland to Constantinople. 'When are you going to finish Vol. III?' was the cry from his fans; but although he wished he could, the words refused to come.

The curious thing was that he had not only written an early draft of the last part of the walk, but that it predated the other two.

It remains unfinished but The Broken Road - edited and introduced by Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper - completes an extraordinary journey.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Classic travel writing
  • ISBN: 9781848547544

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

This conclusion to the three part saga of Fermor's epic walk across Europe forms a fitting tribute to the late writer. Like the previous two parts (A Time of Gifts and Between the Woods and the Water) it is an entertaining mixture of picaresque adventure and erudite travelogue. Although the book was incomplete at the time of Fermor's death, what remains is in keeping with the earlier books.

Also by Patrick Leigh Fermor   |  View all