Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Portraits De La Folie, CD / Album Cd

Portraits De La Folie CD / Album

CD / Album


Having been relegated to a moral space of exclusion and fear in the Middle Ages, madness subsequently became a major social phenomenon. Brought under control and personified as 'Folly' in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, it provided scope for social and moral criticism, leading composers and librettists to give it a prominent place on the operatic stage. Here Stéphanie d'Oustrac and the Amarillis ensemble present its multiple facets, from seduction to passionate love, from despair to joy, revealing the underlying truths of humanity in the Baroque era.

Track Listing

  1. Sinfonia
  2. Accourrez, Hâtez Vous
  3. Ne Cesse Point De M'enflammer
  4. Descendez Cher Amant
  5. Aussitôt Le Bruit Du Tonnerre...Est-il Un Destin Plus Heureux
  6. I. Vivace
  7. II. Largo
  8. III. Allegro
  9. From Silent Shades ('Bess of Bedlam') (Z370)
  10. Ground in F Major
  11. From Rosy Bow'rs
  12. Sinfonia
  13. Ah! Crudel Nel Pianto Mio
  14. Non Sdegnerai D'amar Chi T'ama Tanto
  15. Di Quel Bel Ch'il Ti Diede
  16. Balena Il Cielo E Il Turbine Che Passa
  17. Per Trofei Di Mia Costanza
  18. Caprice in E Minor
  19. Abandonnons Le Soin Du Monde
  20. Air Pour L'amour
  21. Gavotte En Rondeau...Souffrez Que L'amour Vous Lie


  • Format:CD / Album
  • Label:Harmonia Mundi
  • Genre:Classical
  • Release Date:
  • Running Time (minutes):67.21
  • Number of Discs:1
  • EAN:3149020940990


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops