Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

A Sleeping Life : a spine-tingling, edge-of-your-seat Wexford mystery from the award-winning Queen of Crime, Ruth Rendell, Paperback / softback Book

A Sleeping Life : a spine-tingling, edge-of-your-seat Wexford mystery from the award-winning Queen of Crime, Ruth Rendell Paperback / softback

Part of the Wexford series

Paperback / softback

Description

Death is always solitary. For some, so is life . . . Fans of PD James, Ann Cleeves and Donna Leon will devour this enthralling mystery of deception, doubt and death from multi-million copy and SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Ruth Rendell ... 'Probably the greatest crime writer in the world' -- Ian Rankin'[Wexford] has become an old friend who gets better with age' -- Herald'A cracking good tale' -- ***** Reader review'Rendell at her complex best' -- ***** Reader review'Unputdownable' -- ***** Reader review'A treat from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review'Couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review******************************************************************************************************On a sultry August evening, the bloody body of a middle-aged woman is discovered beneath a hedge by a small boy. There are only two things that surprise Wexford about the murder scene.

One, that the only contents of the woman's handbag are some keys and a wallet containing nothing but some money. And two, how even in death, her deathly grey eyes possess a scornful glare. The woman turns out to be Rhoda Comfrey, but there's no murder weapon, no apparent motive, and no one who actually cares that she died. Wexford's only hunch is that the clues to her murder must lie in her solitary London life.

But her existence there becomes frustratingly impossible to trace.

Information

Other Formats

Save 9%

£9.99

£9.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also in the Wexford series  |  View all