The Great Western Railway Volume Four North & West Route, Paperback / softback Book

The Great Western Railway Volume Four North & West Route Paperback / softback

Part of the The Great Western Railway ... series


The `North & West Route', which, in recent years, has become known as the `Welsh Marches Line', extends from Newport to Chester.

Historically, this 137-mile route is an amalgam of three distinct railways: the Shrewsbury & Chester Railway, the Shrewsbury & Hereford Railway and the Newport, Abergavenny & Hereford Railway.

All three lines came under Great Western control at a relatively early date, although the Shrewsbury & Hereford section became a joint undertaking, which was owned by the GWR and the London & North Western Railway companies. The line runs through attractive and sometimes spectacular scenery via Abergavenny, Pontrilas, Hereford, Leominster, Ludlow, Craven Arms, Shrewsbury and Ruabon, thereby providing a useful transport link between North and South Wales, while some services run north-eastwards from Shrewsbury to Crewe over a former London & North Western line that forms part of a direct link between South Wales and the Manchester conurbation.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 128 pages, 200 Illustrations, unspecified
  • Publisher: Amberley Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Trains & railways: general interest
  • ISBN: 9781445641294

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops