Travelling Light : Journeys Among Special People and Places, Hardback Book

Travelling Light : Journeys Among Special People and Places Hardback

Description

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity.

One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home.

Escape, in other words.' Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling.

En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas.

In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel.'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience.

We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything.

Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity.

Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.'Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying.

Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain.

Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Memoirs
  • ISBN: 9781408708521

Other Formats

£20.00

£15.79

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Alastair Sawday