logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The Light Within Us : a heart-wrenching historical family saga set in Cornwall, Paperback / softback Book

The Light Within Us : a heart-wrenching historical family saga set in Cornwall Paperback / softback

Part of the The Spindrift Trilogy series

Description

'Moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven' Kate FurnivallFrom the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter comes a beautifully evocative, family drama set at the turn of the century and perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicles. ______________1891. Spindrift House, Cornwall. Talented painter Edith Fairchild is poised to begin a life of newlywed bliss and artistic creation with her charming husband Benedict.

He recently inherited Spindrift House near Port Isaac and Edith is inspired by the glorious Cornish light and the wonderful setting overlooking the sea.

But then happiness turns to heartbreak. In great distress, Edith turns to an artist friend for comfort and after a bitterly-regretted moment of madness she finds herself pregnant with his child. Too ashamed to reveal her secret, Edith devotes herself to her art.

Joined at Spindrift House by her friends - Clarissa, Dora and Pascal - together they turn the house into a budding artists' community.

But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, it becomes clear that all is not perfect within their tight-knit community, and that the weight of their secrets could threaten to tear apart their paradise forever . . . ______________Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde'A highly-recommended novel of love, tragedy and the power of art' Daily Mail'I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story - gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detail' Kate Furnivall

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Sagas
  • ISBN: 9780349422992

Other Formats

£14.99

£11.85

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the The Spindrift Trilogy series