Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The King's Captain, Paperback / softback Book

The King's Captain Paperback / softback

Part of the The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures series

Paperback / softback

Description

Widespread mutiny threatens the fleet in this classic historical naval adventure.Alan Lewrie, our rakish captain, is promoted for his quick action in the Battle of Cape St.

Vincent. Captain Horatio Nelson has gone against orders by breaking out to pursue his own instincts against an enemy division, and Lewrie gets sucked into the action against his much better judgment.

But Nelson's success gets him promoted to Rear Admiral and wins Lewrie a fine new frigate, HMS Proteus. But before he's even had a chance to settle into his new role, the terrible and widespread mutinies of Spithead and the Nore rage through the fleet.

Together with the sudden reappearance of an old enemy, it has Lewrie fighting not just for his command, but for his life... The King's Captain, ninth in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, is perfect for fans of Philip McCutchan, Julian Stockwin and Patrick O'Brian. Praise for Dewey Lambdin'You could get addicted to this series.

Easily' New York Times Book Review'The best naval series since C.

S. Forester' Library Journal'Fast-moving... A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing.

Wonderful stuff' Kirkus Reviews

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Dewey Lambdin  |  View all

Also in the The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures series  |  View all