Supporting your high street Find out how »
The Blood : A gripping and darkly atmospheric thriller, EPUB eBook

The Blood : A gripping and darkly atmospheric thriller EPUB

Part of the Jem Flockhart series

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

'Vivid, pungent and perilous' CHRIS BROOKMYRE

'Evocative...brilliant plotting' REBECCA GRIFFITHS


An intricate and darkly atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London, perfect for readers of Elly Griffiths' The Stranger Diaries, Laura Purcell's The Silent Companions and Stuart Turton's The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Summoned to the riverside by the desperate, scribbled note of an old friend, Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain find themselves on board the seamen's floating hospital, an old hulk known only as The Blood, where prejudice, ambition and murder seethe beneath a veneer of medical respectability.

On shore, a young woman, a known prostitute, is found drowned in a derelict boatyard. A man leaps to his death into the Thames, driven mad by poison and fear. The events are linked - but how? Courting danger in the opium dens and brothels of the waterfront, certain that the Blood lies at the heart of the puzzle, Jem and Will embark on a quest to uncover the truth. In a hunt that takes them from the dissecting tables of a private anatomy school to the squalor of the dock-side mortuary, they find themselves involved in a dark and terrible mystery.


Praise for E.S. Thomson:

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones...' LAURA PURCELL

'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' DAILY EXPRESS

'Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark' JANET ELLIS

'Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years' KIRSTY LOGAN

'A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing' MARY PAULSON ELLIS

Information

Other Formats

Also by E. S. Thomson   |  View all

Also in the Jem Flockhart series   |  View all