Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Putting on the Style, Paperback / softback Book

Putting on the Style Paperback / softback

Part of the A Champion Street Market Saga series

Paperback / softback

Description

Bargains galore and life in the raw...Folk are just emerging from the shadow of WWII and money is still tight.

So the vibrant market of Champion Street is a source of many a tempting bargain - as well as all the local gossip. Dena loves her Saturday job at Belle Garside's market cafe, and her ready smile makes her a universal favourite.

She is soon in thrall to Belle's two good-looking and dangerous sons.

But fate has other plans in store when her younger brother is killed by a gang of thugs. Only when it is far too late does Dena begin to ask herself one terrifying question: has she fallen in love with her brother's killer?A moving saga of second chances and forbidden love set around a bustling cafe in 1950s Manchester, perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Ellie Dean. Praise for Putting on the Style'You can't put a price on Freda Lightfoot's stories from Manchester's 1950s Champion Street Market.

They bubble with enough life and colour to brighten up the dreariest day and they have characters you can easily take to your heart' Northern Echo'A rattling good read to touch the heart of anyone who has loved someone they shouldn't have' Dorset Evening Echo'Deftly chronicled' Telegraph & Argus'Freda Lightfoot's talent for creating believable characters makes this a page-turning read' Newcastle Evening Chronicle

Information

£8.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by FREDA LIGHTFOOT  |  View all

Also in the A Champion Street Market Saga series  |  View all