Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

People Like Us, Hardback Book

People Like Us Hardback

Hardback

Description

Shortlisted for the RSL Christopher Bland Prize and the RNA Historical Romantic Novel Award 2021'A compelling tale of forbidden love set in 1930's Leipzig' Independent'Terrifying, yet tender.

I loved it' Irish Examiner'Heart-breaking, thought-provoking story' Adele Parks'I nearly drowned and Walter rescued me.

That changes everything.'Leipzig, 1930s GermanyHetty Heinrich is a perfect German child.

Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM.

She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it. Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter.

The boy who saved her life. A Jew. Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another.

As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself.

Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself... Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief. Why people love People Like Us:'People Like Us is also a reminder that - even in the darkest times - the extraordinary power of love can light the way' Fiona Valpy'A powerful, unforgettable love story' Gill Paul'A heartbreaking, beautiful story' Jenny Ashcroft'This is historical fiction at its absolute best' Liz Trenow'An outstanding and heart-breaking story of Nazism seen from the 'other side': blind indoctrination is transformed into true heroism by the power of love' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter'People Like Us is part romance, part character study, part call to arms' Lizzie Page'People Like Us is an incredibly moving, utterly captivating, beautiful story of love, courage, and the strength of the human spirit.

It was both heartbreaking and hopeful at once. The ending had me in tears' Rhiannon Navin'A heartbreaking and thought-provoking story about forbidden love during Nazi Germany.

Had me gripped to the very end' Luke Allnutt, author of We Own the Sky'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults

Information

Other Formats

£18.99

£15.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Louise Fein