logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

A Good Neighbourhood : The powerful New York Times bestseller you won't be able to put down, Hardback Book

A Good Neighbourhood : The powerful New York Times bestseller you won't be able to put down Hardback

Description

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERA Good Neighbourhood explores how class, race and star-crossed love will change two families' lives forever.

Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult. 'A feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable.

I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good.' Jodi Picoult'There's no doubting this novel's power' Daily MailIn Oak Knoll, a tight-knit North Carolina neighbourhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son.

All is well until the Whitmans move in next door - an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenage daughter. With little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds over an historic oak tree in Valerie's yard.

But as they fight, they fail to notice that there is a romance blossoming between their two teenagers.

A romance that will challenge the carefully constructed concepts of class and race in this small community.

A romance that might cause everything to shatter... Praise for A Good Neighbourhood... 'Compelling, complicated, timely, and smart . . . hard to put down and hard to forget' LAURIE FRANKEL, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS 'This is a story that will stick with you for a long time' EMILY GIFFIN, NO.1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF ALL WE EVER WANTED'Smart dialogue, compelling characters and a communal "we" narrator that implicates us all in the wrenching conclusion'TARA CONKLIN, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE LAST ROMANTICS 'A thought provoking and gripping novel - the kind that will have you savouring every page'CULTUREFLY'It's the kind of book you tell your friends to read immediately, just so you have someone to talk to about it'i PAPER'Fowler's novel culminates with injustices that are painfully easy to imagine because they continue to be a part of our contemporary lived experience'THE WASHINGTON POST'Make sure a friend reads it too - you're going to want to talk about this book as soon as you finish it'GOOD MORNING AMERICA'Fans of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere need to read Therese Anne Fowler's A Good Neighbourhood'POPSUGAR 'Beautiful, compelling and heartbreaking'GLASGOW HERALD 'A brilliantly written novel for our times'BRUCE HOLSINGER, AUTHOR OF THE GIFTED SCHOOL'This page-turner delivers a thoughtful exploration of prejudice, preconceived notions, and what it means to be innocent'PUBLISHERS WEEKLY'A rippling story for fans of suspenseful domestic dramas'BOOKLIST 'An unforgettable, heart-breaking story'LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW'Check out this contemporary fiction novel if you've ever found yourself wondering what it means to be a good neighbour in modern America'HUFFINGTON POST'A provactive, absorbing read'PEOPLE'One of the most precise and timely novels of the year'NEWSWEEK

Information

Other Formats